Free Week Is Awesome!

Ever since I put my katana down and stepped away from Van’adiel last November I thought that my adventures in FFXI were over.  A new adventure began in Eorzea and that’s where I’ve spent most of my MMO time these days.  However, this week has been free to play so I thought I’d pick up the blade once again.

And what a week it has been.  I’ve been able to experience the entire Rhapsodies of Vana’diel story as it stands today.  I’ve also obtained and spent an additional 70 merits and 4 job points.  I’ve even unlocked bard after 8 years or so of having been on this server.  Shocking to think that I still have jobs locked (and still do; GEO and SCH remain locked) after all this time.

Last, and perhaps saddest, I was able to experience the final chapter of the Mumor event.  With FFXI basically going into auto-pilot with no more updates by early next year it seems unlikely that there will be any more new Mumor events after this one.  I’ve been lucky enough to experience all of them from the beginning. It’s kind of sad that this is probably the last one.  But it had a fitting end.

I may come back and post more about my free week experience along with some pictures in the future but for now I just wanted to post a quick entry.

..Oh and for those out there who may still wonder about Infobar… well, sadly, chances are I won’t be finishing it.  I will zip up the final database sometime later and upload it here and maybe post some instructions on how to edit it yourself if someone wants to pick up the mantle and actually get the thing updated.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris Titus
    Jan 23, 2016 @ 05:50:33

    Love you work on Infobar, and I’m mildly competent programmer of 15 years and would love to update your database. I’ve been overlaying your infobar onto the new Enemybar LUA and it looks pretty sweet, but since i’m using 1.8 sadly I get ??? in current content. Anyway you could shoot me some instructions on how to update you fantastic work? Thank you!

    Reply

    • iyouboushi
      Jan 23, 2016 @ 13:35:33

      The best way to update the database is to use Firefox and download the SQLite addon. Using that you can open the file (when the database isn’t loaded in-game) and edit it til your heart is content. It should be fairly obvious how to do so after you look around on it. Good luck.

      I did start to add the newer areas but simply ran out of time, energy and motivation. If you don’t mind waiting a few days I can get the final version that I had and upload it to the blog so you don’t have to start 100% from scratch with the newer areas.

      Reply

      • Chris Titus
        Jan 23, 2016 @ 19:25:44

        Yeah started updating it with a SQLite editor is working great. Can you do a new post with the new database.db file ? Thank you so much!

      • iyouboushi
        Jan 24, 2016 @ 01:26:24

        I’ll try to get it uploaded and posted on Monday for you.

        -edit-

        Never mind. I managed to get it up earlier than that. It’s live now. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

