Iku-Turso

According to the FFXI wiki about Iku-Turso.. Easy solo as SAM/DNC. Just build steps to stun spells, & heal through maelstrom. Atmas were stout arm / vv / apoc. Started off with Sekkanoki + Konzen (300tp) and did shoha to kasha for light (don’t have fudo for double light) taking him down to half right off the bat the majority of the time (if not more). He’s simple as long as you stun his spells that usually follow after maelstrom.

I decided to test that today..

img_20130318_091751

Ohai!

So.. uhh.. despite what has been posted, this NM is NOT an easy solo.  Even duo it murdered us..

img_20130318_095031

The first time I fought it, solo, I got it down to about 30% before it started spamming Maelstrom like it was going out of style. Curing Waltz III just can’t keep up with the damage it starts to do when its life gets lower (it was doing 1000~1100 damage or so to me at 30%). The second time Xan decided to come help.  Seeing as how I got it down to 30% solo, I thought for sure that duo it would be a cakewalk.  Turns out.. not so much.  She died when it got to about 50% and I managed to solo it down to 17% afterwards before Maelstrom was hitting me for 1200-1500 damage every time.  Even trying to use the temporary items (which I’m now out of) to stay alive I just couldn’t compete with that damage.  By the time I would heal myself back up from 400-600 hp to 1600 or so, it would use the move again, knocking me even lower.

The only good thing I can say is that violent flurish DOES stun it on a regular basis (I never had one resist).  But it doesn’t do any good if I can’t heal enough to stay alive. Unless there’s some atma out there that reduces the amount of damage that maelstrom can do, there’s absolutely no way I can solo this thing on SAM.

I’m not saying that it’s impossible, obviously someone has done it, but I don’t see me being able to do it myself.

Leave a Reply

