Duoing Pallid Percy

Hmm.. so today we decided to try and duo Pallid Percy for the RDM and SAM head seals that it drops..

It was a pretty rough fight but we managed to tough it out and won.  That’s probably the most fun I’ve had in FFXI in a while (at least the most heart pumping).   So after Smz won the first (and only) SAM seal we still had one more pop item left.  Figuring we’ve got this in the bag, we tried again.

It raped us!

I’ve never seen us wipe so fast to anything before in my life.  It was like night and day between the first and second pop.  I still don’t know what really happened and why we were destroyed so fast.

We raised and healed to full.  Since the NM is near the worms that drop its pop item we decided to try and farm one more pop item to try one last time for the day.  Ten min later we popped the NM again.  Lost again.  It was easier than the second time, but harder than the first.

If we hadn’t won the first time I’d say it was impossible for us to duo (despite what people say on the wiki).  Yet, we won the first time so I know it’s possible.  I guess it really comes down to pure luck (of which I have little).

I’m really curious to see if I can figure out some new gear combination or food combinations that would help us win this thing more than 1/3.  I’d really like to finish my SAM AF3+1 head (and I know Smz would like to too).

Guess we’ll keep trying.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lexicorro
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 10:20:46

    You could farm out the seals you don’t want to get a sch for a bit of healing and the possibility to proc yellow for more seals. You want one that can get hints. then you can do nin procs if you use /nin

    Reply

  2. iyouboushi
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 16:39:47

    Very true. We’d probably need a third person for healing help.

    It all really boils down to luck. If the NM doesn’t use that one TP move very often we can usually win. If it uses that move early or after I WS (before I have 60 TP again to use Curing Waltz III) we’re pretty much screwed.

    If we can pull together a party there’s probably better NMs to fight for the seals than this one. I just picked this one because it was one we can potentially duo. 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

