Infobar Database Update

Whether or not you agree with it, the unofficial Windower does have some handy little add-ons.  One of which is something I use: Infobar.  If you’re unfamiliar with it, it basically just adds a bar at the top of your screen and when you scroll over something (say a monster) it gives you information on the subject.  It’s mostly used to look at monsters without having to run to the wiki.  It can tell you if a monster aggros, what level range it is, if it’s by sound/true sound/etc etc etc.  It’s handy and I don’t think it’s really “game breaking” like some of the plugins that some people use.

Anyway, the database has been out of date for over a year now and it doesn’t seem like it’s ever getting another update.  I’ve decided to take it upon myself to start trying to update it.  I know this is going to be quite a task, as there’s tons of new monsters in this game, but I figure..well, why not? If someone else comes along and beats me to it, I’ll gladly just give the link to their work but until then I’ll try to update it periodically.

So here’s my update for tonight..

Original Infobar Download
Database Update

And here’s what’s new so far:

September 28, 2010 Update
Idle wanderers added to the promyies and the vultures added to Misareaux Coast. Almost everything in Beaucedine Glacier [S] has been added except for NMs (the wiki doesn’t list their levels). I started adding stuff from Xarcabard [S] and Abyssea Misareaux.

I know this first update is a bit underwhelming, but there’s a lot to be added to this to make it up to date. Give me time and I’ll get it done.

The zip only contains the database file and does not include the ini.  PLEASE BACK UP YOUR DATABASE BEFORE COPYING THIS ONE OVER! I try to check when I add stuff to make sure it’s working right but sometimes I don’t get the time. It’s best if you keep a copy of a working database somewhere in case something goes awry.

I’ll announce it here on the blog when I make another update to this.  Until then.. try it out, let me know if it’s broken or anything like that.

Leave a Reply

